Mercer University Press News

Our Mission: Mercer University Press supports the work of the University in achieving excellence and scholarly discipline in the fields of liberal learning, professional knowledge, and regional investigation by making the results of scholarly investigation and literary excellence available to the worldwide community.

MUP Authors Nominated for 47th annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards

Georgia Writers Association at Kennesaw State University will host the 47th annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA) awards ceremony on June 11, 2011, at the KSU Center, located at 3333 Busbee Avenue, Kennesaw, GA 30144. The banquet, which is by reservation only, begins at 6 PM. The awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public, starts at 7:30 PM. Sponsored by the Georgia Writers Association and KSU’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the event honors Georgia authors for books published during 2010. The Georgia Author of the Year Awards recognizes and acknowledges Georgia’s wealth of outstanding writers, and celebrates the state’s rich literary heritage. Georgia-resident authors who have been published during 2010 are eligible for the awards. There are 76 nominations this year in award categories including fiction, first novel, creative nonfiction, history, essay, biography, memoir, poetry, children’s mid-reader, and young adult literature.

Mercer University Press nominated authors include:

  • Toni P. Anderson  — Tell Them We are Singing for Jesus: The Original Fisk Jubilee Singers and Christian Reconstruction, 1871-1878
  • Dorinda  Dallmeyer  — Bartram’s Living Legacy: the Travels and the Nature of the South
  • John D. Fair  — The Tifts of Georgia: Connecticut Yankees in King Cotton’s Court
  • David Fillingim — Georgia Cowboy Poets
  • David P. Gushee  — Religious Faith, Torture, an Our National Soul
  • Larry L. McSwain  — Loving Beyond Your Theology: The Life and Ministry of Jimmy Raymond Allen
  • Ferrol Sams — Christmas Gift!
  • David Schaeffer — Five Big Mountains: A Regular Guy’s Guide to Climbing Orizaba, Elbrus, Kilimanjaro, Aconcagua and Vinson
  •  Philip Lee Williams — The Flower Seeker: An Epic Poem of William Bartram

This year a finalist for each of the 12 categories will be awarded in addition to the winners. A special Georgia Writers Association Service Award will be given to former Executive Director Dr. Ralph T. Wilson for his transitional leadership. Georgia author Terry Kay will be receiving the GAYA Lifetime Achievement Award for 2011.    More information is available at the Georgia Writers Association website:

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “MUP Authors Nominated for 47th annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards

  1. Allen Wallace on said:

    Congratulations, Terry Kay. We are very proud of you and thanks for all you do for Mercer University Press. You are the best!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: